Quinton de Kock definitely tried to deceive Fakhar Zaman: Shaun Pollock criticises South Africa wicketkeeper

1 month ago 10

Former South Africa fast bowler Shaun Pollock has chipped in with his views on the controversial run-out of Fakhar Zaman during the 2nd ODI of the ongoing 3-match series in South Africa, saying Quinton de Kock deliberately "deceived" the Pakistan opener before his unfortunate dismissal.

Shaun Pollock stressed that there was no way Quinton de Kock tried to cheat but maintained that closer look of replays of the run-out suggested that the South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman tried to distract Fakhar Zaman, who got out on 193. Fakhar had single-handedly taken Pakistan close to South Africa's total of 341 but with him getting run-out in the first delivery of the final over, Pakistan's chances ended as the visitors had needed 31 runs off the last 6 balls.

The much-talked-about run-out has divided the cricket fraternity with quite a few criticising Quinton de Kock's cheeky gesture. Fakhar was comfortably positioned to complete the 2nd run after he hit one towards the cover boundary. However, a direct hit from the deep by Aiden Markram ended the valiant effort as he was run-out at the striker's end.

Replays showed that de Kock tricked Fakhar into believing that the throw was going to the non-striker's end. While Zaman was still in the process of completing the second run, de Kock seemingly raised his hand and signalled towards the non-striker's end.

"When you look at the incident and analyse it, it's the action of putting the hand up, you can see the distraction for the batsman and the fact that he laughed afterwards," Pollock told SuperSport ahead of the 3rd ODI on Wednesday.

"I'm not saying that if he did that he knew it was wrong. I don't think a lot of the players know about this rule.

"Looking at it, it didn't feel right and I think it was definitely done on purpose to try and deceive," said Pollock. "If you slow it down, it looks as though he was trying something (but) I don't think he was trying to cheat."

According to MCC's rule "41.5 Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman", it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.

Meanwhile, Fakhar Zaman seems to have put behind the controversy surrounding his run-out on Sunday as the Pakistan opener hit his 2nd successive hundred in the 3rd ODi on Wednesday. Zaman hit 101 from 104 balls in Centurion to help the visitors have a good platform to go big in the series decider.