It is safe to say Fakhar Zaman's run-out in the 2nd ODI has overshadowed a valiant effort from the Pakistan opener. Zaman waged a lone battle but fell 7 runs short of his 2nd double hundred as Pakistan lost the match by 17 runs, failing to gun down a steep total of 341.
Fakhar Zaman hit as many as 10 sixes and 18 boundaries as he single-handedly led Pakistan close to the finish line. His 193 came off 155 balls and the Pakistan opener had as many as 6 balls to get past the 200-run mark. However, he was run out in the first delivery of the final over of the chase.
Zaman was comfortably positioned to complete the 2nd run after he hit one towards the cover boundary. However, a direct hit from the deep by Aiden Markram ended the valiant effort as he was run-out at the striker's end.
Replays showed that South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock tricked Fakhar Zaman into believing that the throw was going to the non-striker's end. While Zaman was still in the process of completing the second run, de Kock seemingly raised his hand and singalled towards the non-striker's end.
Quinton de Kock's teammate Tabraiz Shamsi though believes that it was the South Africa wicketkeeper did not deliberately distract Fakhar Zaman during the 2nd run. Taking to social media on Monday, Shamsi defended de Kock over the run-out that has led to divided opinions in the cricket fraternity.
"Just 2 clarify. QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman,he was asking a fielder to back up at the non striker's end. Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done. Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone," Shamsi said in the post.
"So it's not funny that the batsman stopped running instead of completing the run? Let's not take the attention away from a great innings that he played and give him credit for that. The batsman's job in that instance was to complete the run that all...As simple as that," Shamsi added.
However, a section of fans are not happy with Shamsi's explanation as they argued that de Kock deliberately tried to distract Fakhar. Notably, quite a few, including former Pakistan fast bowler, Waqar Younis pointed out that de Kock had a wry smile on his face after Fakhar was run out on 193.
Nice try ????? https://t.co/mIZeZbDfDs— Dennis Fake Fielding (@DennisCricket_) April 5, 2021
So he was asking a fielder to back up at non striker end when throw was coming his end. Use your brain and come up with some other justification. https://t.co/LI1y1jRbNn— Faysal Nawaz (@DoctorFNJ) April 5, 2021
Terrible justification.Asking a fielder to back up at the non strikers end when the ball was clearly coming to QDK's end. Lol https://t.co/KGFrvhxOvI— Atif (@SeriouslyAtif) April 5, 2021 April 5, 2021 April 5, 2021
So you are justifying that deception by saying that QDK was pointing towards “long on fielder” for backup for the ball that was coming towards mid wicket.??. Nice try brother. https://t.co/0FE4rzyOxT— Sarosh Akhtar Siddiqui (@saroshofficial) April 5, 2021
Big joke. Why would you ask for a back up at non striker when throw is at keeper end. It’s clearly deception by QDK. It’s not QDK fault umpire should reacted cleverly & penalised https://t.co/mvdO5VKSxx— Prabhu R (@rprabhu81) April 5, 2021
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the custodians of the laws of the game, issued a statement on Monday, saying it's to the umpires to decide whether Quinton de Kock deliberately distracted Fakhar Zaman.
According to MCC's rule "41.5 Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman", it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.
Meanwhile, de Kock along with the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anridh Nortje and David Miller will not be part of the 3rd ODI and the T20I series as they will join their respective Indian Premier League franchise for the 14th season of IPL.