IPL winners list from 2008 to 2020: Can Mumbai Indians become 1st team to clinch hat-trick of titles?

2 months ago 21

Defending champions Mumbai Indians have an opportunity to do something in IPL history that no other team so far has been able to do - to win a hat-trick of titles.

The Rohit Sharma-led side last season managed to break their odd-year win pattern, when they won a second successive title by defeating Delhi Capitals in IPL 2020 finals. Previously they had won their titles in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

With the core members of the team still intact for IPL 2021 and with some of their other youngsters such as Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan going on to make their T20I debut for India based on their performances for the franchise, all eyes are on them to see if they can be the first team to win a hat-trick of titles.

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings are the only other team in the history of IPL to win two successive titles when they won the trophy in 2010 and 2011. However, they missed out on the hat-trick opportunity as Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Knight Riders beat them in the IPL 2012 final to win their maiden title.

Here is a look back at the IPL winners from 2008 to 2020.

IPL 2008:

There was a last-ball finish to the inaugural edition of IPL as Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets to win the title. Shane Warne-led RR were chasing 164 runs in the match, and they won it on the last ball when they needed to score 1 run off the final ball.

IPL 2009:

It was another thrilling final as Adam Gilchrist-led Deccan Chargers set only a low target of 144 runs for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, with the help of a Herschelle Gibbs half-century, but the RCB could only manage 137/9 in 20 overs and therefore lost by 6 runs.

IPL 2010:

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings, playing in their second final in three years, defeated the Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to win their maiden title. Suresh Raina was the star player in the final and scored an unbeaten 35-ball 57 as the CSK scored 168/5 in 20 overs. Mumbai Indians, led by Sachin Tendulkar could only manage 146/9 riding on a 48-run knock by the Master Blaster.

IPL 2011:

MS Dhoni took his team to a second successive win when the Chennai Super Kings defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs in the IPL 2011 final. It was a high-scoring match as CSK riding on Murali Vijay’s 52-ball 95 scored 205/5 in 20 overs and RCB could only manage 147/8 in their chase.

IPL 2012:

Everyone was expecting the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings to get to a hat-trick of titles but Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir had other plans. The India opener led the Kolkata-based franchise exceedingly well in the tournament and got them their maiden crown.

IPL 2013:

It was the repeat of the 2010 final and this time led by Rohit Sharma, after Ricky Ponting was relieved of the role of Mumbai Indians skipper mid-way through the tournament, the team got one back over the Chennai Super Kings.

IPL 2014:

Gautam Gambhir led the Kolkata Knight Riders to a second title, becoming the second-most successful skipper in the tournament’s history after MS Dhoni. It was an election-year in the country and a part of the tournament was moved to the UAE, but the Kolkata Knight Riders defeated first-time finalists Kings XI Punjab to win their second title.

IPL 2015:

This was the third time that the two sides - Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings - were facing each other in the finals and the spoils had previously been shared by them. But Rohit Sharma-led his side to their second title after defeating MS Dhoni’s men by 41 runs in the final.

IPL 2016:

David Warner led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to the IPL 2016 title after defeating Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling final. This was the year when Kohli was in prime form and scored 973 runs in the tournament by far the most by any batsman in a season.

IPL 2017:

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians to their third title over the new-comers Rising Pune Supergiants in a tense finish, where the game was won by just 1 run.

IPL 2018:

Returning after a two-year ban, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings looked at their best in the season and won their third title when they beat 2016 champions Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets in the final.

IPL 2019:

It was the fourth time that Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings were facing each other in the finals and once again the game did not disappoint. The Rohit Sharma-led side went on to win by just 1 run and with it they won a record-extending fourth IPL title.

IPL 2020:

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians broke their odd-year jinx by defeating the Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2020 final and going on to lift their fifth title. They were by far the best team and finished the group stages at the top.