IPL 2021 Venues: Delhi

1 month ago 15

Professional cricket will return to the newly-christened Arun Jaitley Stadium as it gets ready to host the second leg of the Indian Premier League 2021 from April 28 to May 8.

The stadium's name was changed in 2019 from Feroz Shah Kotla to Arun Jaitley in honour of the late former Delhi and Districts Cricket Association president and ex-Union Minister to recognise his outstanding achievements in the field of cricket.

Jaitley, during his tenure at DDCA, is credited with renovating the stadium into a modern facility, increasing its capacity to accommodate over 41,000 fans besides constructing world class dressing rooms.

The stadium will host its first match this season between Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad, which will be Match 23 of IPL 2021. The initial leg of IPL 2021 will be played in bio-secure bubbles in Chennai and Mumbai.

IPL 2021 will be played only across 6 venues in India in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. No team will get to enjoy home advantage. Bio-secure bubbles have been created across the 6 venues to ensure safe and smooth conduct of the premier T20 tournament.

The Arun Jaitley Stadium is going to host the least number of matches this season. 8 games will be played at this venue as compared to at least 10 each in Chennai, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Kolkata and Bengaluru. Bio-secure bubbles have been created at all these venues as the BCCI has strict protocols in place to ensure the safe conduct of the tournament in the wake of the pandemic.


Teams usually prefer to chase at the Arun Jaitley stadium due to its small boundaries and quick outfield. Teams batting 2nd have won 16 matches out of the 28 that have been played here since IPL 2018.


April 28, Wednesday - CSK vs SRH - 7:30 pm IST

April 29, Thursday - MI vs RR - 3:30 pm IST

May 01, Saturday - MI vs CSK - 7:30 pm IST

May 02, Suunday - RR vs SRH - 3:30 pm IST

May 04, Tuesday - SRH vs MI - 7:30 pm IST

May 05, Wednesday - RR vs CSK - 7:30 pm IST

May 07, Friday - SRH vs CSK - 7:30 pm IST

May 08, Saturday - RR vs MI - 7:30 pm IST